What Is Process Safety Management (PSM)?

Purpose of the  PSM Standard

To ensure safe and healthy workplaces,   created the Process Safety Management of Highly Hazardous Chemicals standard. This standard contains requirements for the management of processes using highly hazardous chemicals. These efforts help to prevent and minimize catastrophic releases of toxic, flammable, reactive or explosive chemicals that can result in fire or explosion hazards

To Whom Does the PSM Standard Apply?

The process safety management standard applies to industries that use highly hazardous chemicals, including by not limited to:

  • Manufacturing industries (especially those pertaining to chemicals, fabricated metal products, and transportation equipment)
  • Construction industries
  • Electric, gas, and sanitary services
  • Farm product warehousing
  • Natural gas liquids
  • Pyrotechnics and explosives manufacturers
  • Wholesale trade

PSM requirements apply to companies that deal with more than 130 specific reactive and toxic chemicals in listed quantities, as well as flammable gases and liquids in quantities of 10,000 pounds or more.

Exceptions to PSM Applicability

The PSM standard does not apply to:

  • Retail facilities
  • Oil or gas well drilling or servicing operations
  • Normally unoccupied remote facilities

Is Following the PSM Standard Legally Required?

According to the Clean Air Amendment Act (CAA) of 1990, the  PSM program is a legal requirement. Section 304 requires  to mandate a chemical safety standard in order to prevent accidental releases of highly hazardous chemicals. The CAAA compiled a list of 14 process safety elements that the PSM standard requires employers to meet.

14 Elements of a Process Safety Management Program

Employers have a process safety management system in place that follows these 14 rules and practices:

  1. Process Safety Information
  2. Process Hazard Analysis
  3. Operating Procedure
  4. Employee Participation
  5. Process Safety Management training
  6. Contractor Training
  7. Prestart-up review
  8. Mechanical Integrity
  9. Hot work permits
  10. Management of change
  11. Incident, and Accident Investigation
  12. Emergency Planning and Response
  13. Safety Compliance Audit
  14. Trade Secret Protection

Course Name: AOSH UK Level 4 Award in Process Safety Management.

Training Days: 3-4 Days online Training via Zoom App

Trainer: AOSH UK Approved Trainer will conduct the session

Exam: MCQ Type Online Exam.

A sound Process Safety Management (PSM) program is essential to any business that has highly hazardous substances on site. Process Safety Management is designed to manage the integrity of operating systems and processes handling hazardous substances by applying good design principles, engineering, and operating practices.

PSM is essential for managing complex chemical operations as well as simple operations involving hazardous materials. The elements of PSM focus on Technology, Facilities, and Personnel.

Email us- Info@dbhseinternational.com

Get Your HSE Career Started Now!