How to Prepare for Certified Safety Professional (CSP)?

What is CSP?

A CSP candidate’s professional practice is typically spent implementing safety management systems, making worksite assessments to determine risks, assessing potential hazards and controls, evaluating risks and hazard control measures, investigating incidents, maintaining and evaluating incident and loss records, and preparing emergency response plans, among other possible duties. A CSP may also have environmental management system responsibilities, including managing SH&E programs that can cover up to 1,000 or more employees.

Safety responsibilities of this level are found in virtually every industry including petroleum exploration, production and refining, manufacturing, construction, healthcare, and insurance.

Why become a DB HSE International Approved Training Provider?

  • Will have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree*
  • Will have four (4) years of safety experience where safety is at least 50%, preventative, professional level with breadth and depth of safety duties
  • Will have a BCSP Qualified Credential:
  • Associate Safety Professional (ASP)**
  • Graduate Safety Practitioner (GSP)
  • Transitional Safety Practitioner (TSP)**
  • Certified Industrial Hygienist® (CIH®)
  • Chartered Member of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (CMIOSH)**
  • Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP)**
  • CP-12 Professional Certificate in Safety and Occupational Health, U.S. Army Combat Readiness Center (ACRC)**
  • Certified Safety Engineer (CSE), as administered by the State Administration of Work Safety (SAWS), People’s Republic of China (PRC)**
  • Master in Occupational Safety and Health, International Training Centre of the International Labour Organization (ITC-ILO)**
  • NEBOSH National or International Diploma for Occupational Health and Safety Management Professionals (formerly the National or International Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety)**
  • Professional Member of the Singapore Institution of Safety Officers (SISO)**
  • Diploma/Certificate in Industrial Safety, as issued by the State Government Departments Boards of Technical Education, Government of India**

Must pass the CSP examination

Maintenance of certification

  • Annual renewal fee
  • Recertification requirements

You may apply for certification at any time by selecting the My Profile portal from the right-hand corner of any BCSP.ORG webpage. Once you have created your account, you may select the “Applications” menu button to start your application.

BCSP Certification Services will review your application once it is submitted. You must meet all certification requirements to be eligible for the certification. Once determined eligible, candidates have one (1) year to take and pass the certification’s examination.

Purchase, Schedule, and Take the Exam

You have one (1) year from the approval of your application to purchase and take your examination. The CSP examination costs $350 and can be purchased after your CSP application is approved.

You may purchase an examination by logging in to My Profile and selecting the “Purchase Exam” menu button. You will receive an authorization code by email which you can then use to schedule your exam at Pearson VUE test centers. You may schedule the exam at any time available as long as it is six (6) weeks from your last exam attempt.

  • BCSP’s examination service provider, Pearson VUE, has hundreds of test centers located around the world. Examinations are delivered via computer at the test center. As soon as candidates submit their exam, official results are available.

Achieve and Maintain Certification

  • Candidates who meet requirements and pass the examination are awarded their certification and become BCSP certificants.
  • To support continued advancement of the safety profession and recognition of BCSP credentials, an annual fee is assessed to credential holders in order to retain use of BCSP credentials. All credential holders must also remain up-to-date with changes in professional practice and share their activities to earn recertification points required every five (5) years.

Get Your HSE Career Started Now!